Resting place of the victims of the revolution

Burial place for the deceased workers in Kiel November 1918 (sailors' mutiny), February 1919 (so-called Spartacist Uprising) and March 1920 (Kapp-Lüttwitz Putsch)

The resting place of the victims of the revolution functions as grave area as well as a memorial. 41 people are buried here, who fell victim to violent confrontations that marked the transition from the German empire to the Weimar Republic. Most of them were workers from Kiel.



Funeral procession for those who died during the Kiel mutiny 10 Nov. 1918

Five died during the uprising in November 1918 which led to the collapse of the Empire. A group that was still loyal to the Emperor shot at revolutionary sailors and workers during a demonstration on 3 November 1918 in Karl street. Five more were killed during the so-called "Spartacist Uprising" in February 1919. The uprising was caused by the advance of government troops on the Bremen Council Republic, which had led to a broad solidarity amongst workers in Kiel. On 5 February 1919 shots were fired in Kiel at workers who were close to the

KPD (communist party). They had armed themselves and attempted to charge military facilities. The majority of the buried fell victim to the Kapp-Lüttwitz Putsch in March 1920. As in other parts of the Weimar Republic.

confrontations in Kiel between striking workers and anti-Republican units ensued. The leader of these units in Kiel. Rear Admiral von Levetzow held the executive power as chief of the Marine Station Ostsee. He did not even give up the coup when Kapp and Lüttwitz had to withdraw in Berlin. During the subsequent shootings on 18 March 1920, at which the united workers were supported by the security police, it is estimated that over 80 people were killed in Kiel.



Burial of the dead of the Kiel mutiny at the Eichhof cemetery, 10 Nov. 1918

The solemn burial of the victims of revolution, Spartacist revolt and Kapp-Lüttwitz putsch, as well as the design of their graves as a memorial place, was arranged by trade unions and Social Democratic city councillors. With great mourning, the dead from 1918 and 1919, were initially

www.kurkuhl.de 9 January 2012

buried in common graves. In early summer 1920, the bodies were reburied in today's semicircularly arranged individual graves. The central boulder with the inscription 'Ruhestätte der Opfer der Revolution (resting place of the victims of the revolution)' was provided by the city councillor Karl Edler (SPD) in March 1920 at his own expense.



Funeral procession for the victims of the Kapp-Lüttwitz-Putsch, 24 March 1918

The current layout of the landscape was planned by the prominent Worpswede garden architect Leberecht Migge. He designed the 1924 plantation and terracing of the memorial place, which separated the elevated grave complex from the assembly area. The memorial place is nowadays maintained by the City of Kiel.

(Text and illustrations: Kiel city archives, 2011; Translation: Klaus Kuhl, Ian Bennet)

Victims' names and years of birth

Right side of the memorial stone:

Killed during the sailors' mutiny 1918:

Theodor Duzy *1898, Franz Maye *1897, Friedrich Weisel *1865, Max Dethlefs *1902, Anton Nagel *1895

Killed during the Kapp-Lüttwitz-Putsch 1920:

Wilhelm Deutschendorf *1895, August Bock *1891, Heinrich Staack *1896, Paul Hartz *1889, Ignaz Dera *1874, Ernst Reuter *1883, Wilhelm Held *1900, Gertrud Rudloff, geb. Spiegler *1894, Heinrich Rumohr *1893, Emil Müller *1878, Robert Bruhn *1920, Linus Schlegel *1864, Emil Büsing *1885

Left side of the memorial stone

Killed during the Kapp-Lüttwitz-Putsch 1920:

Wladislaus Bachorski *1894, Dietrich Punke *1899, Heinrich Bock *1893, August Klingenberg *1885, Albert Glomm *1901, Ernst Oland *1902/03, Gustav Strüver *1887, Waldemar Schulze *1891, Willy Stocks *1899, Karl Klos *1897, Friedrich Rodewald *1891, Heinrich Paulsen *1901, Friedrich Kähler *1887, Konrad Stein *1890, Otto Kinkel *1895, Heinrich Warweg *1893, Johann Liebner *1865, Karl Keidel *1891

Killed during the Spartacus revolt 1919:

Karl Schaalburg *1885, Max Friedrich *1888, Wilhelm Schäfer *1874, Franz Schattauer *1884, Wilhelm Rowedder *1899/1900

Sponsors of the information board:

DGB, Bürgerstiftung Kiel, Rolf Fischer MdL (Member of State Parliament)





www.kurkuhl.de 9 January 2012